Skip to main content

Contract Audit Resources

Helpfulness block

We appreciate the feedback.

Please include your email if you want us to follow up with you.

Contract Audit Guidance

The following links provide the criteria and auditing standards used as part of contract audits:

Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR) (48 CFR): Provides policies and procedures that Government acquisition officials and contractors must follow in the procurement process for goods and services.

Cost Accounting Standards (CAS) (48 CFR Chapter 99): Federal laws that certain contractors and subcontractors must follow when they enter into Government contracts.

Uniform Guidance (UG) (2 CFR Part 200): Authoritative set of rules and requirements for Federal awards, including grants, agreements, and contracts (for applicable entities, such as nonprofit organizations).

Generally Accepted Government Auditing Standards (GAGAS): Also known as the “Yellow Book”, these are Government Accountability Office (GAO) published audit standards.  These standards are a framework for conducting high quality audits with competence, integrity, objectivity, and independence.  The Acquisition Audit Services (AAS) Branch performs audits in accordance with GAGAS.


Last Updated: